Skip to content

Vreni’s Newest Achievements

April 17, 2009

This Winter I decided that Vreni and I would work towards being a therapy dog team. After a little training, we went for the test and she just got her certification this week. I am looking forward to taking her to visit the children’s hospital once a week. She has such a kind and loving temperament. I can’t wait to see what joy she gives to other people as she visits them!

A few weeks ago I acquired a litter of orphaned raccoon kits to raise. I have done this in the past and always enjoyed the experience. When they get to be about 6 months old, they naturally migrate into the wild — always staying tame and friendly to me, their caregiver. This newest litter Vreni has adopted as her own. She cares for them and treats them like they were her own puppies! It is quite a beautiful thing to watch how lovingly she took them in.

She tenderly cares for them.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. Holly Sherrill permalink
    April 22, 2009 12:34 am

    Awe, how sweet the photos are. I am so happy for you guys for Vreni’s certification, I think that is just wonderful! Hope all is well 🙂

  2. Kristin permalink
    April 22, 2009 2:41 am

    Way to go, Vreni! I am sure that she is going to be a WONDERFUL therapy dog, Ava!
    The baby raccoons are sooo cute! It looks like Vreni has adopted them as her own. 😉

  3. Lucy permalink
    April 24, 2009 4:27 pm

    I must insist on a TON of more pictures.

  4. Katie West permalink
    April 25, 2009 5:04 pm

    Am so happy for you and Vreni and can’t wait to hear the stories of the joy she brings others 🙂 She looks great in her vest!!!

    The pictures of her with the four coons are adorable!!! Too fun!!!

    (I checked and checked your blog over the winter…yay additions! 😉 )

    KT

  5. Masha permalink
    April 28, 2009 1:19 am

    Awww
    thats so sweet!
    I was addicted to this blog late last year, and thought I lost the link!
    Today though, I was looking through my bookmarks, and here it is!
    Cant wait to hear more!

  6. mary permalink
    June 22, 2009 3:36 am

    Thank you for becoming therapy certified. My son spent three months in the children’s hospital last fall [Tulsa,OK]. There is a great team of dogs and owners here that visited two to three times a week. It makes a really big difference for kids who are hospitilized for long periods. I found myself looking forward to the doggie visits as much as he did! Never underestimate what that brief time with each child can do to encourage.

Leave a Reply

