Skip to content

Update on Robey

July 14, 2008

Robey is doing very well this morning. I transferred him over to my regular vet this morning. He is on several medications for pain, anti-ulcer, and antibiotics, with his last IV being given this afternoon. If all goes well today, he can come home tonight. Yay!!

He ate a little during the night and this morning I fed him a little more. He actually would have eaten more, but it is only small meals for a couple weeks while his insides heal up. But that he wanted to eat more was a very good sign. It looks like, Lord willing, he is going to be ok. Thank you to everyone that was praying for him. God heard the prayers.

He is quite groggy from the pain medication. When I went to pick him up he was sound asleep in the kennel. I called his name softly and his head popped up and he cocked it over to the side like he does when I talk to him. As soon as he saw me that big tail of his started to wag and he looked at me with those melting brown eyes of his…very happy to see a familiar face. They opened the gate and he came over and buried his huge head in my lap while gently whining. It was so good to see him more himself again and not in pain! The veterinarian and vet techs were all really nice and took good care of him while he was there. They said he was a perfect gentleman through everything and never gave them a hard time.

I am looking forward to having him home tonight with him sleeping next to my bed tonight. 🙂

9 Comments leave one →
  1. Katie permalink
    July 14, 2008 4:26 pm

    Good to hear the news. Will continue to pray. What a sweet reunion story. Robey is one of kind!!!

  2. July 14, 2008 4:45 pm

    Oh, what good news this is. What a sweet boy he is. We’ll keep him in our prayers for a good and thorough healing.
    God Bless,

  3. Carey Monroe permalink
    July 14, 2008 5:11 pm

    So glad to hear that you and Robey survived the night Ava, we have been very worried about both of you. It is such a traumatic experience to see one of your “children” in pain like that. Thanks for the update…we will continue to pray for both of you. Carey

  4. July 14, 2008 5:44 pm

    So glad to hear he’s doing better.
    Praying for a quick, total recovery.

  5. July 14, 2008 6:33 pm

    Hello Ava:

    I am happy Robey is Ok and getting better, He is such a nice and pretty dog.

    Blessing,

  6. Helen permalink
    July 14, 2008 6:44 pm

    Ava,

    I had never heard of this as a problem with dogs. We have friends who had been out for the evening and returned home to find their horse suffering terribly with what they called “twisted gut.” Same thing, I assume. It was too late for intervention.

    Along with the rest of you, I’m grateful God spared you!

    Blessings,
    Helen in Spokane

  7. Kristin permalink
    July 14, 2008 6:44 pm

    Praise the Lord, Ava! 🙂 I remember when we picked up Little Ann from the vet…she was so excited to see us! She was almost dragging the vet when she saw us! When she got to us, she was jumping on us, whining, and licking us. We were trying to get her settled down because of the condition her heart was in, but nothing was stopping her. 🙂 I just wish that she had as good as recovery that Robey had….but the Lord had a different plan.

    I will continue to pray that Robey recovers well! 😀

  8. Kayla Carr permalink
    July 14, 2008 8:08 pm

    I am soooo happy! Reading about Robey gave me immediate flash backs of what happened to Bear and I am so happy God saved Robey and is healing him nicely. Have a nice day!
    Kayla

  9. July 16, 2008 5:11 pm

    So glad to hear it, Ava.

Leave a Reply

