Skip to content

Please Pray for Robey

July 13, 2008

Robey went in for an emergency surgery on a twisted stomach at noon today. Praise God I noticed the signs right off and immediately took him to the emergency vet clinic. The x-rays confirmed my diagnosis and he went in for surgery right away. The surgeon was very positive after the surgery and said there did not seem to be bad tissue damage of his stomach, intestines, or spleen. They did not need to remove any of it. They did have to make an incision in his stomach in order to remove the food that was there. They then sutured the wall of his stomach to the wall of his abdomen so this won’t happen again. His heart rate remained good during and after the surgery, so that is a good sign. He won’t be out of the woods for another 24 hours or so, but things are looking good at this point.

A twisted stomach is fairly common in large chested dogs. And Robey is that. Dogs can die in a matter of hours after their stomach twists. I am so thankful this happened when I was home and not during the night. I thank God for that!

My boy is spending the night by himself at the emergency clinic. I don’t think I will be sleeping much tonight. Tomorrow, depending on how things are, he will be transfered to my regular vet’s clinic to stay under their care for another day or so.

I would appreciate anyone that thinks of Robey to say a prayer for him. He is the greatest dog I have ever known. Before he went in for surgery they took him from me. I was watching him from the other room as they prepared him for surgery. He never stopped looking at me until they closed the door and he couldn’t see me anymore. He was being so good and still for the vet’s assistant……..but I could see in his eyes that he didn’t understand and wanted me with him.

i will update the blog as I know more so everyone can pray.

9 Comments leave one →
  1. Kristin permalink
    July 13, 2008 10:44 pm

    Oh, Praise God that you noticed! I wish that I had known as much as I do now about that situation, when it happened to Bear! Oh, praise the Lord, Ava! I am praying for Robey. That is so sweet about him not taking his eyes off of you…it made me cry. Even when they are in pain, they still are the most loyalist friends ever! I will be praying that you will get sleep tonight. Next time you see Robey, give him an extra kiss for me!

    I am praying…….so is Mom!

  2. Katie permalink
    July 13, 2008 11:08 pm

    I will be praying Ava. The Lord is with you my friend and Robey!

  3. July 13, 2008 11:41 pm

    We’ve got Robey in our prayers.
    God Bless.

  4. Carey Monroe permalink
    July 14, 2008 12:26 am

    Hello Ava, we will pray for Robey and for you..Please keep your chin up. Carey

  5. Melody permalink
    July 14, 2008 3:04 pm

    Ava, I said a prayer as soon as I read this post. I know how much you love your dog!

  6. July 14, 2008 3:43 pm

    Hi Ava,
    Keeping you and Robey in prayer.

  7. July 14, 2008 9:43 pm

    i am glad robey is getting better ava. sounds like you guys are going to have a fun sleepover! 🙂

  8. JENNIE K permalink
    July 21, 2008 9:26 pm

    Awww poor puppy!! I hope things are going better !!!

Trackbacks

  1. Trivium Pursuit » Blog Archive » Please pray for Ava’s dog Robey

Leave a Reply

