Skip to content

Getting Bigger!

June 30, 2008

The puppies are getting big! They are eating two solid meals a day now. One meal is canned chicken/rice mixed with softened puppy food. The other is just the softened puppy food. They are getting the hang of this chewing thing pretty quickly! πŸ™‚ By Friday I will be feeding them only somewhat softened food.

They are moving out to the large 10 foot by 10 foot kennel this week. They will start going out part of the day tomorrow and work up to all day. Now that they want to play and investigate more, the whelping box just isn’t big enough for them.

Feeding them pieces of softened food.

“Auntie” Liesl is showing Green Collar Male all about “the ball”. Green Collar Male is my most outgoing of the bunch. Very happy and always wagging his tail. Not at all bothered by things. The first one to come to you when you call. He still cocks his head at me and looks at me right in my eyes when I am talking to him. A very smart boy.

Green Collar Male is not quite ready for a game of fetch. But it won’t be long! πŸ™‚

Orange Collar Male getting introduced to the smell of horses. All the puppies have been out a couple times to smell the horses and get familiar with them. Orange Collar Male is the sweetie of the litter. The quietest and most unassuming. When you say “hey” to him and reach out, he will gently start wagging his tail and sidle up to you in the sweetest way you could imagine. He loves to sit quietly in my arms while I am sitting or walking around………..just taking in everything that is going on in a calm and very grown up way.

My sister was up for the weekend to finally meet her goddaughter, Daisy Collar Female. My sister has especially spoiled this little girl by giving her the special daisy collar for her tiny puppy stage. This visit she brought a very girlie, pink collar for her going away collar. She also brought puppy bones to chew on, and a scary looking chew toy. πŸ™‚ Daisy girl is such a cutie. She reminds me so much of her mother when she was a puppy. I purchased Vreni from a breeder out in Colorado. So I had her shipped by plane to the airport near where I live. I remember when I opened the crate after Vreni’s long plane flight…………….all Vreni wanted to do was wag her little tail and give sweet puppy kisses. She wasn’t scared at all from the flight, only happy to see someone! Vreni has always been a very people oriented dog. She loves everyone and is always a happy girl. Daisy Collar Female is just the same way. When I pick her up she will wag that little tail of hers until it is a blur while she gives you kisses on your face!

Yesterday “The Hulk” came up to me while I was playing with them outside, looked in my eyes and started gently licking my feet. He kept looking at me while he was licking and the sweet expression on his face was just priceless!

I am sorry to say that I didn’t get any photos of Red Collar Male this time around. He is now the same size as Blue Collar Male. Red guy is going to be a royal German Shepherd when he grows up. He has a presence about him that already gives you the feeling of what a magnificent and grand dog he is going to grow into. He is also a snuggler. πŸ™‚

8 Comments leave one →
  1. Katie permalink
    June 30, 2008 8:23 pm

    Wow! they are getting much bigger πŸ™‚ So cute and adorable as always! πŸ˜€

  2. Kristin permalink
    July 1, 2008 2:45 am

    What good looking puppies, Ava! 😎 Puppies are just so, so, so, so SPECIAL! πŸ˜€

  3. Carey Monroe permalink
    July 1, 2008 3:16 am

    Loved the new pictures…that green collar male is stealing my heart more and more each time I see him!!!!!!!!!!

  4. Johannah Stanford permalink
    July 1, 2008 12:31 pm

    Please give each puppy a kiss from me! And give little Daisy girl twelve extra kisses! She NEEDS to be spoiled. πŸ™‚ I don’t know what you mean by “a scary looking toy” πŸ˜€ (Just have it do the hampster dance, and then the puppies won’t be frightened of it). I love you Ava, and I think you are raising the best puppies in the world!

  5. July 1, 2008 3:34 pm

    Hello Ava,β€Ž

    Oh, the puppies look so nice, like little “puppy toys”. β€Ž

    I love you style, with the blue flower in the, definitely blue is your colorβ€Ž.

    Bye, bye

  6. July 1, 2008 5:39 pm

    the puppies are getting so big! i love that picture of orange collar male meeting the horse. that nose looks quite nice to pet. πŸ™‚ i didn’t know puppies had godparents??:)

  7. July 2, 2008 12:39 am

    They are such fluff balls! I was trying to weed the garden with one of them today, but it was too hot in the sun and he panted.

  8. September 18, 2010 4:36 am

    Hi! This post really caught my heart. The baby German Shepherds are so cute! I love the three of them and how they’re personalities are so different with each other. I think you’re doing a great job taking care of them. The pictures of these dogs are just too much to handle, I just want to cuddle them so tight! Thank you for sharing these wonderful blog here on germanshepherpuppies.wordpress.com. I’m very happy that I came across your site. Hope you won’t hesitate to post more. I’ll be happy to know more about these overly cute puppies. Keep it up!

Leave a Reply

