Skip to content

The Puppies’ 3rd Week Begins!

June 23, 2008

A lot of maturing has happened in the last week with these guys.

They now know their mom is coming not just by smell, but by sight and sound.

They don’t just eat and sleep anymore. There is more investigating when I get them out of the whelping box and into new surroundings. They play with each other. These guys are still so tiny……………..it makes their play so cute! Really gentle and slow.

Since they are now interacting more, I am starting to see their different personalities come out more and more. I expect to learn a lot about them personality wise in this upcoming week. I personality test them at six weeks old. It is a simple test that takes about 15 minutes per puppy and you get a general idea of where they are as far as dominance, independence, and such by how they react to different situations. I have guesses already as to how each of them is…………it is always fun to see how they mature and how right I was from my early on evaluations! 🙂

Today they will get their first solid meal!

They were wormed for the first time on Friday. It is a gentle wormer that is banana flavored, and the puppies really like it! 🙂

The teeth are coming in! And so marks the beginning of Vreni being REALLY glad that she can escape them when she wants to. 🙂

Their weights as of this morning were…………..

Blue Collar Male: 3 pounds, 14.5 ounces

Red Collar Male: 3 pounds, 11.1 ounces

Daisy Collar Female: 3 pounds, 5.2 ounces

Green Collar Male: 3 pounds, 7.8 ounces

Orange Collar Male: 3 pounds, 3.4 ounces

Here is Robey checking out his little daughter.

Blue Collar Male. “The Hulk” is quite the character! He is just huge! His feet are huge, his head is huge, his tail is like a thick tree trunk! I have pegged him as the most dominant one………..but we shall see as he matures.

Red Collar Male. I haven’t figured this guy out yet. He is the most vocal about wanting to be fed. He and Blue Collar Male buddy up when they play.

Daisy Collar Female. She is a sweetie! I think she is probably going to be a pretty happy, middle of the road puppy. Does not seem dominant or at all fearful of new situations. She seems to buddy up with Orange Collar Male right now.

Green Collar Male. Ok, this little guy has been stealing my heart over the weekend! 🙂 Both Robey and Vreni cock their heads when you talk to them (something I love, as they really look like they are having a conversation with you!) and much to my surprise this little guy was cocking his head when I was talking to him this morning! He is also the first to wag his tail. He makes the least fuss about things and is the most content when I hold him. Right now I am thinking he is the “little Robey” of the litter. But again, time will tell as he matures.

Orange Collar Male. This guy is a quiet unassuming little one. The youngest and the smallest……..not by much. But he has surprising depth. 🙂 He was the first one to figure out how to get out of the whelping box! Usually it is the dominant one that is the first one out. Now I have to raise the end up so they can’t crawl over. This little guy might surprise me. 🙂

And here is the beautiful mother of all the puppies. Verena vom Adel Haus. As you can see, having five kids hasn’t diminished her beauty at all! She is such a good mom to her puppies. A calm and laid back mother dog like her really rubs off on her puppies as they mature.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. June 23, 2008 2:51 pm

    I really enjoy hearing about the puppies growing up.
    They’re just get cuter and cuter! 😀

  2. June 23, 2008 3:30 pm

    wow, the puppies are getting so big Ava. after having to take care of Lewis for a couple weeks when he was little, (it was to me some of the hardest days of my life)….kudos to you for taking care of “5” cuties. i would serisouly love it if Lewis cocked hit head to me, right now all he wants to do is bite me. 🙂

  3. Kristin permalink
    June 23, 2008 7:09 pm

    They are all just so, so, so adorable! 😀 Daisy girls looks so cute! Orange boy’s coloring (to me) looks very unique for such a little puppy. Blue boy looks so big! I would say that he has most surely won over his nickname, “The Hulk”! 😉 I think that I see a little bit of Robey in Green boy, just by seeing his picture! Red boy looks so cute! 🙂 My puppies are going to be two weeks tomorrow! 😀

  4. Katie permalink
    June 23, 2008 7:21 pm

    Fun to hear you guess their personalities! Such cuties, they are! 😀 What good puppies to take their wormer. Banana? I don’t think I would be as good 😉

  5. Carey Monroe permalink
    June 24, 2008 6:50 pm

    The puppies are growing so fast….I loved seeing the pictures and they are all so adorable….decisions decisions….!!!!

  6. Kayla Carr permalink
    June 24, 2008 9:18 pm

    Wow, I cannot believe how fast they are growing. Little “Hulk” certaintly is earning his nick-name. What a big, beautiful boy! I have always loved German Sheperd pups and these have to be some of the cutest I’ve seen!

  7. cristina permalink
    August 20, 2008 3:32 am

    hi i just got 2 german shepherds they are only 2-3 weeks old what can i feed them? milk?

Leave a Reply

